





National Conference

on

Digital Agriculture: Empowering Indian Farming

December 17-18, 2024

Background

The National Academy of Agricultural Sciences has designated "Digital Agriculture" as the theme for the year 2024, engaging professional associations of agricultural societies nationwide. Various events are being organized by the societies and in light of these recommendations, a two-day national conference on **"Digital Agriculture: Empowering Indian Farming"** is being organized jointly by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences(NAAS), New Delhi and International Crop Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), Hyderabad with CGIAR Initiative on Digital Innovations.

India is on the brink of a transformative era in agriculture, driven by the rapid growth of digital infrastructure and technological advancements. With tools such as precision farming, big data analytics, artificial intelligence, robotics, and variable rate technologies (VRTs), the country is set to become a global leader in agricultural digitalization. These technologies offer numerous benefits, including increased yields, resource conservation, enhanced sustainability and better livelihood.

Despite challenges like limited access to technology, high costs, and regulatory barriers, the conference aims to foster collaborations in digital agriculture among different scientific societies/bodies and institutions and develop a strategic roadmap for implementing digital solutions in Indian agriculture.

Technical Sessions

Session-I: Digital Agriculture for Enhancing Productivity Session-II: Last Mile Connectivity and Delivery Session-III: Investments & Policy for Digital Agriculture Session-IV: Brainstorming by Professional Agricultural Societies Session V: Joint Initiative on Digital Innovations of CGIAR-ICRISAT-ICAR

Venue

A.P. Shinde Symposium Hall National Agriculture Science Complex (NASC), Dev Prakash Shastri Marg, New Delhi-110 012

Organizers



ICAR, New Delhi





ICRISAT, Hyderabad

NAAS, New Delhi

Organizing Committee

- Dr. Himanshu Pathak, President, NAAS & Secretary (DARE) and DG (ICAR), New Delhi-Chairman
- Dr. K.M. Bujarbaruah, Vice President, NAAS & Former Vice Chancellor, AAU Jorhat-Member
- Dr. P.K. Joshi, Vice President, NAAS & Former Director South Asia, IFPRI-Member
- Dr. Rajender Parsad, Treasurer, NAAS & Director, ICAR-IASRI, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Joykrushna Jena, Deputy Director General (Fisheries Science), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr Tilak Raj Sharma, Deputy Director General (Crop Science), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. S.K. Chaudhari, Deputy Director General (NRM), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. R.C. Agrawal, Deputy Director General (Agricultural Education), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. S.N. Jha, Deputy Director General (Agricultural Engineering), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. U.S. Gautam, Deputy Director General (Agricultural Extension), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Raghavendra Bhatta, Deputy Director General (Animal Science), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Sanjay Kumar Singh, Deputy Director General (Horticultural Science), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. W.S. Lakra, Secretary, NAAS & Ex-Vice Chancellor, ICAR-CIFE, Mumbai-Member
- Dr. Anil Rai, Assistant Director General (ICT), ICAR, New Delhi, Convener
- Dr. A.K. Singh, Secretary, NAAS & Former Director, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi, Co-Convener
- Dr. Rabi N. Sahoo, Program Leader, NePPA, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi, Co-Convener
- Dr. Mangi Lal Jat, Global Research Program Director, ICRISAT, Hyderabad, Co-Convener

Technical Programme Committee

- Dr. S.N. Jha, Deputy Director General (Agricultural Engineering), ICAR, New Delhi-Chairman
- Dr. A.K. Singh, Secretary, NAAS, New Delhi -Member
- Dr. Anil Rai, Assistant Director General (ICT), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Seema Jaggi, Assistant Director General (HRD), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Neeru Bhooshan, Assistant Director General (IPTM), ICAR, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Rajender Parsad, Director, ICAR-IASRI, New Delhi -Member
- Dr. C. Viswanathan, Joint Director, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi -Member
- Dr. Rabi N. Sahoo, Program Leader, NePPA, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi -Member Secretary

Accommodation and Logistics Committee

- Dr. R.R. Burman, Assistant Director General (Ag. Ext), ICAR, New Delhi-Chairman
- Dr. K.P. Singh, PS, ICT Unit ICAR-HQ, New Delhi-Member
- Dr. Himanshu, Senior Scientist-Member
- Sh Sumit Jindal, Director, ICAR-HQ, New Delhi-Member
- Sh. A.K. Meena, DS (ICT) ICAR-HQ, New Delhi-Member
- Ms. Deeksha Gupta, Executive Director-Member
- Sh. Anil Verma, ICT Unit ICAR-HQ, New Delhi-Member Secretary

Food and Reception Committee

- Dr. Seema Jaggi, Assistant Director General (HRD), ICAR, New Delhi-Chairperson
- Dr. A.P. Ruhil, PS, ICT Unit ICAR-HQ, New Delhi-Member
- Smt. Renu Joshi, ACTO, ICT Unit, ICAR-Hq.
- Smt. Teena Chopra, T.O., ICT Unit, ICAR-Hq.
- Ms. Minu Tiwari, Chief Programme Executive, NAAS
- Ms. Rashmi Singh, Editorial Manager, NAAS